(Sorry if the audio mixing is a bit wonky on this one – I’m currently unable to hear out of my right ear.)

Is Dynasty Warriors 9 good or bad? Well, honestly…

Looks like I’ll be skipping this chapter in the Dynasty Warriors saga. Let’s hope they manage to bring me back with Dynasty Warriors 10.

At least I have Three Kingdoms Total War to look forward to. I was joking when I said someone needed to light a fire under Koei’s ass, but looks like it ain’t much of a joke any longer.

Nguồn:https://gameauland.com/

40 Comments

  • Delly
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Um…. as a Mandarin Speaker. Wu actually IS pronounced as "Ou" or "u" to you english speakers. the W really IS silent believe it or not. This is strangely the first game to get it right. In fact a lot of names and terms are being used more correctly than it was in DW7/8. Its a shame the original voice actors quit. But I heard worst voice acting than this. Faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar worse. Sadly the Mandarin Dub is a little lacking and seemed rushed so it better to play the game on Japanese half the time.

    imo to me, the game ain't a disappointment but it is lacking, I'm not gonna pretend its perfect. Hopefully all the issues are ironed out or improved upon in the hopeful expansions. Currently though I'm having lots of fun with it XD (much to a lot of people on youtube's dismay XD)

  • Jeremy Mathew Heng
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    firstly can you make your own character

  • Tao Long
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    The moment I thought DW was going wrong was number 7. I hated with a passion. 4 and 5 will probably always be my favourites.

  • killmillthegoat0_YT JIN
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Fuck this game…. seriously FUCK THIS PILE OF SHIT

  • Chatz
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    What are your top 3 DW games?

  • Aaron Smith
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Magoichi saika is my favorite still

  • Daniel Budiono
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Looking the conversation cut scene, dw9 is tiring. Character standing and talking is boring. We buy dw series for battle. Conversation is good, but not too much

  • Mystrohan
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I like the open world. But they need to figure out how to make it a little more interactive, and weave the story in a little more.

  • welon17
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I was on steam tonight and suddenly I noticed DW9 was in my library… "I didn't buy this game," I thought, "I don't remember doing it. I heard it's bad. Let's check it out."
    And so I booted the game that lasted like 7 minutes to run in my monster PC… and the Trial Version was on the main screen. "Oh, that makes sense."
    I picked my girl Yuejin and started the Trial Mission and… it was ok. I miss the dual weapon system that made some enemies actually dangerous, and then I faced Cao Cao, and oh lord… that was, anticlimactic. But it was ok. Thanks to this review I think I'll pass on this one.

  • Thunder Kat
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    That unrealistic cape animation on the hero is extremely triggering.

  • Gwerki
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Is this Assassin's Odyssey?

  • beazyo6baby
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I will say this I think it's pretty good I've been playing it sense dw3 and I have majority of the dynasty warriors games yeah there's alot of things that sucks like the voice acting (2/3rds of it was shit ) and some of the cut scenes not flowing like dw7 and dw8 also some of the major battles in the middle of the game is lack luster and empty especially chibi ( I was highly disappointed in that battle) but there are a lot of bright spots and nostalgic added in to the game some of the locations of the castles are placed like that of previous games fan castle looks alot like it does in dw3 witch is dope and the position of all the castles are set up very much like dynasty warriors 7 fan castle battle hulao gate is set similar to the hulao gate level in 4 (those are only a few examples) and lubu's entrance is almost exactly like his dw2 entrance the major cities are pretty dope and some of the lessor cities too although I would have liked all of the cities and castles to be different from each other I was fine with the open world aspect it was desent the cities n towns have a desent amount of people but I wish there were more towns through out the map expeshally on the outer parts where there is really no cities castles and towns the music was dope and I like how they mixed shades of dynasty tactics in to the game there's alot to like about the game and alot to be desired but all in all its not as bad as people make it out to be minus empty battles in the middle of the game and the voice acting (Wich was my most disappointment feats about the game) I would say I really enjoy it for what it is and it's a major step in the right direction now if they gave it dw7s seriousness of the story and dw8's unique castle looks and cut scenes as well as voice acting and took there time with the battle and add a little bit more towns in the map to fill it up more it would be one of the best instalment 🤷🏽‍♂️

  • son nguyen
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    dam they butchered the game.

  • joseph cunha
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    to be honest i dont mind the gameplay grind isnt issue for me either cuz im used to it over the years of different games that require grind what i cant stand is them having 3 different season passes 1 id be fine with but 3? at that point its not a season pass but a fake expansion most of them just give exclusive characters and weapons no exclusive content thats meaningful if they even have extra content at all its great game from what ive seen but not worth 200$ lmao most id pay is for the standard game they definitely got greedy this time around they did better job when they made that zelda game

  • Miketheking75
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Same here been playing DW since DW4, and everything you said is the same thing i said after lasting 5 minutes in the trial. So I'll probably pick up DW8 and skip DW9 as my 1st DW game to skip on purpose. They should never listen to people that dont care about the series. Hopefully DW10 will be a reboot and go back to how it was with no open world, same studio that did the voices in the older games, with actual cinematic scenes and everything else that made DW what it was but with improvements.

  • L0RDFR3NCHY
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    lazy company, not maturing with its audience, i miss how much i enjoyed dw3 and dw4 but dw5, 6, and 8 were among my worst gaming purchases ever. Not gonna give em more money to develop crap like this. xD
    If you're not gonna innovate at least have some decent combat animations ! The animations, the weapon impact, the sound design, the level design, the character progression, everything is worse than a ps2 game from your "own" company like 15 years ago ! its sad man …

  • Bloodbath4LIFE
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I'll pass thanks for the review subbed

  • Peter Panda
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    The world looks empty. Reminds me of Link Botw.

  • The Question Mark Umbrella
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I adore the franchise but this game is complete & utter crap! DW8 was near perfect I don’t know why they made so many bad decisions with 9. I hope we don’t have to wait too many years for DW10 because I can’t play 9 😔😢

  • Kartik Ayysola
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    This game makes 6 look like a masterpiece.

  • cincityohio Live
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I don't like but Come on Now really? But like you said there are some good things. But overall I think its Okay. I mean its not the best but… At least we have something

  • HolyknightVader999
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Dynasty Warriors trying to be Skyrim is the worst idea ever. Skyrim is a mostly open-world RPG, where the focus is on ONE PLAYER CHARACTER fighting against powerful enemies. The average battle is at most, one dude against a couple dozen. Not one dude against 500. In fact, Skyrim's more memorable battles are the ones where you fight ONE boss enemy and a couple mooks, not a fight with 500 mooks and a couple of officers. They should be focusing on refining the formula 7 and 8 left behind, not copying Skyrim. I mean, look at Cao Cao or any other general. An enemy general charging at you with his or her elite guard while the larger part of your army is engaging theirs is logical. An enemy king or general charging at you alone is ridiculous, unless it's Lu Bu or something.

    The problem is, these companies are just playing "follow the leader." KOEI saw Bethesda being successful with Skyrim, and seeing other companies like Nintendo and CDPRed copying it. So they tried to copy it. They're not listening to their fans, who want more of what works. If they really wanted to kowtow to the fans and make lots of money, then they should take the best parts of Dynasty Warriors 3, 4, 5, 7, and 8, and make a game that has the best of those to go forward. I mean, look at their Dynasty Warriors Gundam games. The last one put in more characters and allowed people to use large Mobile Armor units in gameplay-THAT is the right thing to do! Copying someone else's formula is a disaster, especially if they didn't have experience making an open world game like Skyrim.

  • Zac Flemo
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I still think dynasty warriors 4 is the best DW ever created

  • teckana93
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    DW9 is a shame to everyone!!
    Atleast provide us with underground metros as we are spending the entirety of our gameplay just travelling from one shithole to another!

  • teckana93
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Yuan Shao in DW 9 looks like a sissy!
    Liu Bei turned into a fuckin ninja!
    Sun Jian looks stupid!

    China should sue KOEI for presenting Chinese fugures in that manner!

  • teckana93
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Lol in all honesty Dynasty Warriors 2 (released about 15 years ago) was the best game in the series, it looked more realistic than the successive installments. Battles were better organised and characters were better presented. I urge KOEI to place it in PS Store so that I could install it on my PS4.!
    From DW 5 onwards the series turned into a mess.!

  • Hamad Jumah
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Dw5 and Dw extreme 4 are the best

  • The Realist
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I can't figure out why anyone would ever play any of these games in English. Why? Literally, why. What's the point?

    also, when he said "I hereby claim this yada yada yada in the name of Wu", the he said it perfectly right. It's Uu. Not Wu. The W is silent.

  • Titanicus Andronicus
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    The idea was fantastic. But frankly they should have just launched a new IP set in the same story. I dream that one day someone will make an open world game like the Witcher 3 set in the Three Kingdoms area. Maybe your character could be a person from a noble house that can choose one of the three factions to join during the Coalition against Dong Zhuo period and the story would be about bringing Lu Bu, who killed your father, to justice.

  • Tony Mcneil
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Even with all its flaws..
    DYNASTY WARRIORS 9 is still awesome.

    As for the Open World CHINA..
    KOEI TECMO has provided you the entire 'Land of The Lore..
    yet you complain that it's too open?? (smh)
    maybe that's why you have a horse & fast travel!..
    I mean it only makes sense right!??

    as for the 'Voice Overs.. are they not in English though (YES or NO?)
    because some players weren't privileged to that feature in-Game..
    so it's probably better to just be humbled toward that fact..
    and as far as the word 'repetitive goes..
    name one Dynasty Warriors that ISN'T… I'll wait.

    In closing.. DYNASTY WARRIORS 9 is a ways from perfect.. but overall..
    it still remains a stepping stone to the greatest Dynasty Warriors Game to Be.

  • Rean Quarzer
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    just look at this season passes…. ripped off content we had in the past to prices you won't even believe

  • AthetosEternal
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I am Uber dynasty warrior fan who has been playing since dynasty warriors 2. I just spent my entire weekend trying desperately to like this game but cannot. It is unfocused and boring. now instead of meeting certain conditions during the battle you can accomplish everything before it. The combat system is shallow and boring. you need scrolls produce good weapons meaning the blacksmith is only useful for crafting. All the town quests take will be given to you in the same area, so if you try to get all the missions at once you end up with one area full of five groups of enemies to kill at once. What a waste of a weekend!🤬

  • Thompa
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Im off to play dw4, cya

  • ElegyForTheMasses
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Please pardon my thin grasp on the English language, but I cannot find an official definition for the word "cringey" or "cringy". I did find the word "cringe" and "cringeworthy". Are those words related?

  • no google I don't want to use my real name.
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Nice job showing and comparing the opening scenes! I loved DW for its cheesey acting and dialogue. Guess 9 won't cut it for me.

  • El Chuy
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I stopped playing this game after 4 hours. I love the combat, but the openess was too boring for me. At the moment, i'm playing WO4 and it a lot better for me. Thank you for your honest review.

  • dejan redhead
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    I love this review and I feel the heart just from the first 30 secs

  • Gunter the penguin
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    0:28 No Yue Jin, do not pursue Lu Bu!

  • John Rambo
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Blind fandom burned me with Tales of Zestiria.

  • John Rambo
    Posted February 27, 2020 4:51 am

    Is there Japanese voice acting at least? There is no life in the voice acting.

Leave a comment