Dynasty Warriors 9 falls just shy of being ambitious, despite it’s move to a massive open world, it isn’t without merit though…
♥ Find all the Latest JRPG Deals, Preorders, and Must Play Games here: ♥

There are plenty of things wrong with Dynasty Warriors 9, but there are also some great things. It really wouldn’t take much to make it a truly great game.
♥ Have your say & help shape Jay RPG’s content for as little as $1 per month: ♥

Something I didn’t mention in the review that will be noticed by fans is the removal of almost all of the interesting, fun, and crazy weapons… I have a feeling they’ll be paid DLC in the future.
♥ Follow me on Twitch for fun and informative Livestreams of all the games I cover on Youtube: ♥

♥ Follow Jay RPG on social media for the latest updates ♥
Twitter: | Instagram:

♥ My chair is a ZQRacing Alien XL Series Gaming Chair. Find out more here: ♥

♥ Special Thanks to my ‘You Are Amazing’ Tier Patrons: John Cowen ♥

Nguồn: https://gameauland.com/

Xem thêm bài viết khác: https://gameauland.com/review

50 Comments

  • Jassom77 Jassom77
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Dynasty warriors 9 is awesome game can you make new review with the new patches

  • williamhowe1
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    If they put more effort towards the open world it would've worked.

  • Anthus
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    It’s funny how dynasty Warriors 8 Empire is better then this new game 🤣😂🤣😂

  • Drama King
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    I feel free froam should of been just for the city and battles not the whole of China since travling is not fun when we arent slaughtering people

  • Kasper’s Ghost
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    This game is 99.9 percent shit

  • Amuro Ray
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    9 sucks. Even 6 was better.

  • FistHound 00
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    they shouldnt have made it the way they did. i would have made it so you can play multiple characters on the same mission. for example Changban. Liu Bei needs to escape right. while Zhang Fei has to defend the bridge while Zhao Yun rescues Liu Shan. on the mission specific missions will need to be done by specific officers. so you swap in and out of the characters to do so. to know which missions are for who they should have the character icons for the officers recommended for the side quest. so in this instance ill play Zhang Fei first and defend the bridge while Zhao Yun as an AI slowly makes it to his mission. and after im done with Zhang Fei ill swap to Zhao Yun to do his missions. not only does this make everything better but also using different fight styles and weapons at the same time. i dont just want to pick Zhang Fei and use the same combos over and over again. this is how they should have done it.

  • A4R R4A
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    It had so much potential and they fucked it up…

  • Glint
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    I know the bgm it's from one of the old FF games.
    Don't tell me, let me find this one out on my own.

  • DevilSpawn75
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    I just miss the split screen 2player, I would lots of fun with my kids but idk why they took it out, I think the last time they had 2 player slip screen was DW7, nevertheless I enjoy 9 but it could be better and bring back the original English voices they messed up on that one. Let's see what they do next and I hope they bring back the co-op split screen.

  • Justin C
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    So basically they made a hybrid between Dynasty Warriors and Assassin's Creed. Doesn't sound that bad.

  • socom sku
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Horrible game, not DW at all. Characters and fights feel BLAND as hell.

  • Silvest3r
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    All games actually suck,but not DW9 . reviewers keep lying . i keep gaming

  • The Welsh Ronin
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    But seriously I have loved Dynasty warriors since I was a child, is this truly a worthy sequel or will it break my heart like the abolishment of the bodyguards

  • The Welsh Ronin
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Just throwing this out there but in most dynasty warriors you can rush the boss and end it in 5 minutes. It's just you racka disciprine

  • Supreme_VII
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    omg the FFIX music in the background..im hearing bells ringing in my head

  • Blake
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Honestly I’ve been a fan for many years but sorry this is the worst, dialogue it’s terrible, what happened to cool cinematics, barely runs 30fps, screen tears even my One X, it’s to big and boring, it’s terrible, I didn’t mind the fighting system but overall it’s the worst out of any DW

  • Some Guy
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Funny how dw9 blew and the very stuctured story based spirit of the sanada was great

  • Tristan Schofield
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Good to see someone that actually sees the bigger picture when it comes to this game. I'm sure they'll get all of these new features implemented better in the next installment. I see this as a building block, much like DW7 was. Those so quick to call the game trash are just impatient and unable to accept change. Dw9 isn't great, but it's the biggest evolution the series has seen since dw2. Give Koei a chance to learn from this rather than just crapping all over them. After all, they've provided fans of the series with plenty of great content in the past as it is. Just be patient, dw10 will be excellent.

  • David Quezada
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Play your way open gameplay
    That's what sandbox open world games are
    People don't understand this sadly.

  • THN
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    the one thing I hate is the ally just standing near the castle wall doing nothing (well some of)

  • silverfoenix
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    For some reason I feel like playing Final Fantasy 9…

  • Ingerimm
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    "Open world". Yeah, no. A world needs to be alive and breathing, filled to the brim with things to see and interact with. That is not what DW9's "world" is. This iteration of DW is a disgrace.

  • dragonforce525
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    I've been a fan since DW2 and for me DW is not an open world game, obviously there are people who may disagree but I enjoyed DW6 more than DW9.

  • Solid raven
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    I'll wait and get this shit when it's 20 bucks.

  • Agent Globe Head
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Good review, I think I’ll wait till the price drops…

  • Adou
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    My personal opinion is that it's better than most critics rate it, and worth a buy if it's on sale or something, but not necessarily a groundbreaking game, but there are interesting parts that do make it enjoyable.

  • Tempest
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Im very disappointed in this game…i wish they just kept it like dw8 and just added more characters more in depth story for each character. I hope they stay away from open world in the future.

  • Critical Ruin
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    DW9 is a Failure because:
    Boring Open world
    Terrible Combat(DW8 is Better!)
    Empty Battlefield(Dw8 is Superb!)

  • Tetrahedron IX
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    It has its issue but like it, I've played ever Dynasty Warriors since DW3. I understand the critiques but who cares, if you are paying Dynasty Warriors you know what your getting, yeah its different, but somehow I became more immersed in the game when I found out you can kill one guy to take over a castle, the world is a lot bigger so instead of spending 45 mins to conquer one castle, you can conquer 5 castles and do a couple of other missions in that same time while traveling through the large vast world. It's different and something new, and its a good foundation for the next generation of DW.

  • Endrik Jakab
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Game is shite. U get more from DW8 XL Complete Edition for 25 bucks. Like Worlds more Content and better Graphics.

  • Abod S
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    just wait for dynasty warriors 9 empires, i remmember being able to create warriors in empires and it was fun!

  • Warrick James
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    The open world is really better setup for the Dynasty Warriors Empires entry

  • Warrick James
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    they need to update the GAME by putting much more in the open world like MORE bandits, assassins from other kingdoms, the need to cut down trees and build log cabins and resource gathering for new armors(yes let us have new creative armors), Light entire villages on fire and castles… the stuff they do for Dynasty Warriors: Empires basically

  • OneButton Dash
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    gonna wait for DW9 empires or if they ever fix this game via patch I'll check it out but glad i didn't pick it up. sad really, i been wanting a new dw game for a long time now

  • Queeropatra
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Dynasty Worriers

  • Daughter of the Gull
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Still waiting for Dynasty warriors Empires 2

  • Matte Crystal
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    I almost agree completely with this except for one thing. the boss rush. OK yes its a problem but i don't think its actually the core issue. After all as i recall in most dynasty warriors games you could rush the boss. The true 2 issues with the game that exacerbate this problem that dynasty warriors has always had is one, lose conditions. many times you had multiple lose conditions like making sure certain characters don't die or holding a position. These conditions are almost nonexistent in the current game. (i do think they exist in some rare instances tho) however even then those conditions aren't explicitly stated so its easy to not feel the pressure when you don't realize that a certain key character is on the brink of death.

    The second big issue that increses the sense of this doesn't really matter so ill just rush the boss is your own teams sense of urgency, size, and effectiveness. I get it in dynasty warriors your a killing one man army. but in other games your own allies could actually push the lines, move in, ect. in most cases in old games it felt like every mission you had 60% to 80% effect on all aspect of the battle. In DW9 its more like you control 99% of evey aspect of the battle.

    for instance say there is a castle with 4 gates on all sides. lets say you clear and open the left, right, and top parts of the castle as well as kill a majority of the forces inside the castle. Chances are high that your allies at the bottom gate are still stuck at the entrance. To top this off its not uncommon to have your entire force in an area be a handful of 5 to 20 guys.

    so there is no urgency at all to keep you running around to specific areas of the battlefield and even if you do try to play the game by clearing everything and advancing your troops after awhile you quickly learn that it's practically pointless.

    Good news is I think these are things that could definitely be polished to work. the urgency for people dying in battle an be events that trigger when you're in the heat of the main battle. that way your not off doing something dumb like fishing when suddenly you have to go save someone. The same goes for how aggressively your army pushes up. there can be events that trigger them to stop being useless when you actively participate in the main battle.

    Finally and i think this would actually be the best idea. make a hardcore mode where everything moves continuously and there are no dumb extra free roam activities. your units always move at a decent speed, the lose conditions are always active (but change depending on situation and battle). Some might say well what the point of free roam at that point but i beg to differ. who says free roam has to mean tons of miscellaneous activities and the ability run around doing whatever you want whenever you want. All we need is a giant world of China that connects all maps into one so that we can have a sense of pushing the lines foward and expaning our empire.

  • Macen
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    I'm on board with you mostly. But that voice acting. Dear god Dynasty Warriors 8 the first one before XL where they changed Zhang Liao, that was the pinnacle of the voice acting for the series in my own o pinion. This one they just….dear god. I can NOT play in english. It just doesn't worrrrrrk.

  • Fachri Alfareza
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    I think the gameplay mechanic is more suitable for a spin-off, like as if you're playing a mercenary, in an open world, participate in many and any battle, any side that gives you more money, get recruited, and then follows the linear storyline of the cause you're hired in.
    I think that will only exist in my mind, cuz… Tecmo-Koei :v

  • Byron Watkins
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    My only hope is that there b a dw9 empires I've always been a fan of those version of the game

  • Andros the warrior High Alpha
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    It takes hundreds or thousands of people to create an open world like Dynasty Warriors 9.. it takes time and effort plus hard work too..

  • William Jallo
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    I think this is entry was a step in the right direction. It does feel unpolished but I think there is a lot of potential for open world to work for Warriors style games.

  • Alexandru Tanasov
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Everyone besides the playable characters looks the same i mean come on koei this is dw9 you had at least 8 games to inprove.

  • Dobby Jai
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    The open world was really just open world, that was it… just a open area with nothing to do…

  • EagleVolkan
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Forget DW9….WE NEED SAMURAI WARRIORS 5.

  • marksokka
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    i would play it if it had custom characters in it.that the main reason i play the empires
    cause i love the custom creation and the fact you can download other people characters in dw 7 and dw 8

  • MingtheKing23
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    Thanks for making this review. All the other reviewers were mostly rants and when I actually got the game. I liked it. I been play dynasty warriors since the 4th installment. So, thanks for the fair review it's not as bad as people say.

  • Jordan Vale
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    The moment i heared lu bu english voice in 9 i instantly said oh hell no

  • MetalHeadGamerX
    Posted April 1, 2020 12:48 am

    DW9 is a great game. I mean this was back in ancient china. What do you think there is going to be besides side missions and capture stuff. I mean MGS5's open world was big and empty too but it still was a great game game. Same goes here

Leave a comment