It’s not often that you see a game try to totally reinvent a series. Dynasty Warriors 9 moves the action open world, but does that make it more fun? Find out in my full review video!

Share and subscribe if you liked it!
Consider supporting the show on Patreon:

Follow me on social media:
Facebook:
Twitter:
Instagram:

Business email: Mark.shockley@yahoo.com

All clips of audio and video used in this work are used for entertainment or education purposes under the fair use clause found in sections 107 through 118 of the copyright law (title 17, U. S. Code). If you have any dispute please contact me.

“EDM Detection Mode” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0

Dynasty Warriors 9 is a hack and slash video game developed by Omega Force and published by Koei Tecmo. It was released for PlayStation 4 in Japan on February 8, 2018, and for PlayStation 4, Xbox One and Microsoft Windows in Western markets on February 13, 2018.

Dynasty Warriors 9 is a hack and slash game with stealth elements. The title will revamp the gameplay of the series with the introduction of the open world environment. A traversable map of China will be implemented which the player can freely roam on foot, horseback or boat, though the game will focus on livable environments such as cities and towns as well as places where large battles take place. The characters’ move-set combinations are also planned to be revised.

The player can invade and infiltrate enemy fortifications with the utilization of a grappling hook. A day-night cycle and dynamic weather system will also feature in the game. Time and weather now change in real time, and enemy vision is affected at night-time or when it is raining. The map will advance in time when main story missions are completed, but are described as having a “high degree of difficulty” which can be lowered by completing associated side missions.

The player can customize and decorate hideouts with furniture bought from merchants. Certain items have different effects; for example, placing a gong in the house and interacting with it will allow the player to change the background music. Teahouses found in the game can advance time and provide food that can be used to temporarily raise the stats of playable characters, such as raising their attack strength or increasing the height of their jump. The game will include fishing, collecting resources to upgrade weapons and characters, camping, and other recreational events as well.

Each character in the game will have their own individual ending.

Nguồn:https://gameauland.com/

40 Comments

  • DreamcastGuy
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    This game was REALLY fun, but Im not sure if I will ever go back and check out old Dynasty Warriors. The open world really makes it great! Thanks for watching and liking this video. 😀

  • pty80
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    This game is the worst out of the series… like they always have that Objective during quest if you fail them it changes the outcome just a little
    Also the map is boring, the voice acting is terrible, The bow is Trash
    You should DEFINITELY go back and play other DW if you think this is good… I took this game back "DAY ONE"
    I like you Dreamcast guy but this ain't it Chief ima have to question the rest of your reviews now 😂😂

  • Apocaplyse Darkside
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    I love dynasty warriors since part 2 came out I've played part 1 but dat was a fighting game yes LUBU IS THE BEST CHARACTER

  • Numokai
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Red dead 2 has a lot of empty space, yet people swear it should've been GoTY. Why does this game get hate for the same thing?

  • EliteTango
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Does each character Have a DIFFERENT stoRYLine

  • Steve Samuals
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Kinda odd to see a positive review of this game.

  • K X
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    This game is amazing! Easily the BEST in the series!

  • Jassom77 Jassom77
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Nice review

  • Kaden Bailey
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Sima Yi is best

  • IMRavnos
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    this is the first positive review for this I have seen.  Weird.

  • Zoe Moonlight
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    1 it's bad just trust me on this. 2 That story about the mom sounded frankly stupid. 3 If you are even half decent at games you should be able to understand just how easy it is and will spend more than half Your time walking around noticing how empty everything is because you took out half the people you see the second you noticed them. After that you will most likely go try to climb a cliff so you can jump off because you noticed the game wants you to walk half way accross the world just to screw the guys bumb in the first 5 mins becuse you were told to.

  • Absolutely Everyone
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    You seem to be the only person who likes this game. Which gives me hope because I’m not a Dynasty Warriors fan and this looks like a good time. Not $60 worth of a good time but thanks for the info

  • John Doe
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Being away from the series for so long made you biased for this review..this game isnt nearly as good as your saying it is 🙄 terrible voice acting when 8 had great voice acting and more than 80% of characters are cloned! Not to mention the open world is empty and bland..oh and did I mention cut scene quality is much worse than part 8! Most cut scenes are shitty RPG style cut scenes and even cinematic cut scenes are frame rate nightmares and lip synching is worse than it was in part 8..this is a step back! PERIOD

  • Francis Santiago
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    5:16 what happen to his face lol

  • DodderingOldMan
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    I've been playing the trial version on PC. I'm surprised how much I'm liking it. Yes, it is an absolute mess technically. But the open world is an incredibly refreshing change, and suits the series so well. I really feel like I'm part of a vast, shifting battle. I might buy the full game.

  • KloudyWoolf
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Dreamcastguy big time fan, watch a lot of your videos, and like your reviews. But…..bbbbut!!! My dude 8.5 for this game?! Really?! What happened to you man you used to be cool? 5.5 or even a 6 maybe…. But absolutely not an 8.5, anyway do you dude.

  • Ted Caulinovitch
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Who the f**k is Jim Sterling?

  • chaz mccain
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    dw9 may have problems but its not the worst game ever like some fans are making it out to be and i enjoyed it for the most part

  • Jordan Starks
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Great review but how does it run on a regular ps4 ?

  • Tep and Flash
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    I love this game. I know it gets a lot of hate but I have had a LOT of fun. Especially with the bad dubs. Every time I hear "capturing the enemy's base is the key to their defeat" I can't help but laugh

  • Zero
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    so i got this from dreamcastguy description quote "Dynasty Warriors 9 is a hack and slash game with stealth elements" STEALTH ELEMENTS JUST WHAT THE F ARE YOU SMOKING. no, just no you making the series look bad by saying hack and slash game and i repeat, HACK AND SLASH but stealth element? you smoking some shjt while playing the god damn game and you said it in the video yourself "I haven't play this game for a decade" well that's probably explain it. and to those of you that trying to defend this guy, let me tell you something, most of you don't even play the game to know the truth about his whole video. Try listen to every sentences he said and you see there are some shit that is going on the background like he is being paid for to do the video and guess what? your blind by the fking "he have his own opinion" maybe try the game, crack game for dynasty warrior 9 already come out since the game was release. try it and see for yourself for free and then unsubcribe from him. "mind your own opinions"

  • Sydney Millner
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    4:58 Xu Zhu isn't flinching or fighting back SMH.

  • The Wanderer
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    I agree with you. This game is really great. Thinking of buying it a second time on PC just so I can play at work during lunch.

  • M1 Health Potion
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Funny because if Jim said this game was good even with all the problems, people would be agreeing with this review.

  • KING
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    In my opinion you can’t truly say this game is good if you played dw8-dw8 empires

    Because that game did so much right and fixed so many issues that this game literally takes a bunch of steps back and it’s far too noticeable to overlook.

    And the clone weapons and re casting of the English dub are my biggest complaints

  • Reaper 430040
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    The grappling hook really takes away from the experience. No more killing gaurds who unlock the doors, or defeating someone to open them, instead you just run up the wall……stupid. Defeats the entire point of having a castle or fort. Also there are tons of bugs, like computers standing still while you attack them repeatedly. Or computers far to easy to the point its boring even on hard mode. I own all dynasty warrior games, huge fan, but this game…has so much potential, but its like they do not care to make it work. Its like they made it, then realized it sucked, and instead of fixing the bugs, and getting rid of the stupid grappling hook, they just released the game when it clearly is not finished product. Also there is zero character creation….and the new fighting system is a joke compared to there other games, feels like they babied it down….so every fight is the same, or very very similar. And after beating the game, you choose another character to play with and re due everything you just did over and over with every single character, making it extremely boring.

  • Tempest
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    This is game is NOT better then dw8 or any dw game. This game open world is empty and point less and fights against ppl like lu bi who suppose to be badass hard is easy. I love you vids but from a hardcore dw fanboy this game is horrible.

  • Fei Wong
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    I'm a fan of DW since 3 came out back in 2002, played every entry and own a huge Koei collection of games, and i was surprised to see the bashing to DW9 this month! I just ordered my copy a few days ago and i cant wait to play it! Looks amazing! This series sure are not for everyone! Even hardcore fans dislike it, but i dont care as long as i have fun with it i'm good.

  • billz co
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    the only dynasty warriors i liked was the one where you could make your own character.believe it came out around between 2014-2016

  • Peter Lopez
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    I see more people complain about people parroting Jim sterling than I see people actually parroting him.

    I bought this game as a life long dw fan and it was garbage. This guy sounds like he is just trying to mislead people and get them to buy the game.

  • Silvest3r
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    I am playing and this game is awesome !

  • Matthew Bridgewater
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    This is satire, right?

  • martin medrano
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    Most of these games are usually bashed by critics but I don't care I like them and been a huge fan of the games since the ps2 days

  • Odeseus
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    I have played all mainline dynasty warriors games since ps2. This is by far the worst one. Do not touch with a barge pole. Dynasty warriors 8 extreme legends is a much better game.

  • Johannes Barber
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    It's really interesting to watch a review about this game that is so different from Jim's. First I thought that everyone must probably think that it is bad but then you come along and make it sound like a lot of fun. I guess that is the cool thing abot different tastes in games. Thank you for your opinion and the time you spent creating this review. 🙂

  • stickemup1275
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    I have the game on PC and have owned every Dynasty Warrior game except one and 2
    Two, and I enjoy it, is my experience bought and paid for?

  • j
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    I don't like too many aspects of this mess, however if you like it thats for you.

    Mainly I wanted to say Lu Bu is best because he makes a beetle hat look intimidating! How does he do that?!

  • wezite1983
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    You should disclose paid reviews brah.

  • SuperNintendoZach
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    this is a totally mediocre game, with a lot of problems not mentioned here.

  • Robert McClure
    Posted March 12, 2020 8:26 pm

    You didn't address the terrible crafting system. The no co-op or online options that were in previous games. The terrible hunting. The terrible horse auto travel function is broken. Come on man review the whole damn thing. 8.5??? Are you joking?

Leave a comment